Music: Gangnam Style by PSY

At first, I thought I was listening to my music on my iPhone as I was going to work but then I hear a commercial. I had to peek down to be sure I wasn’t hearing things. PSY has done what so many Korean artists have been striving to do for years: for their music to make it in America. Really?

I was in utter shock when I later learned that it made it to the top of the charts. I’ve been a huge fan of Korean dramas for years, studied Korean as my foreign language credit in school and have studied abroad in Seoul, Korea for a semester. So, don’t get me wrong, I’m glad the song made it here but there are a few things that I find funny.

Most of the people who listen to it and don’t know anything about Korea, don’t know anything about the song or what it means. I read that he never intended for this song to go abroad and wrote it for the Korean people whereas most Korean bands try so hard to make it into America. Maybe that’s one reason how it became successful besides how people find the quirky video to be hilarious and it’s so easy to replace “Gangnam” with your own two syllable style.

Gangnam is the most prestigious area in Seoul where all the big companies are and where the rich people live. I think PSY’s ‘Gangnam Style’ is a parody of this neighborhood and the people who live there. His mannerisms in the video is an imitation of a rich playboy like his upper lip being curled up and how he tips his head to the side.  It’s also apparent when he has a dance off with the guy driving the nice red car and wearing a yellow suit. He might have meant for us to laugh with him more than at him.

I admit, the song can be addictive and fun to dance to but when I first added it to my playlist, I thought it was another K-pop song among the other Korean songs I have. So if you like this song, try some other K-pop artists like 2NE1 or G-Dragon because it’s definitely not the best that I have heard from Korea. It wouldn’t hurt to watch some Korean dramas too while your at it xD

